NIA Region 1 (Ilocos Region)


NIA Region 1 has a total land area of 1,301,260 hectares. The potential irrigable area is 264,491 hectares covering the four (4) provinces of the region, namely: Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union and Pangasinan.

The total service area is 143,664.59 hectares while total firmed-up service area is 128,477.68 hectares, NIA RO 1 serves more than 155,804 farmer-beneficiaries. As of December 31, 2021 inventory report, the Regional Office operates and maintains 28 National Irrigation Systems (NIS) and 1143 Communal Irrigation Systems (CIS).

The following are the ongoing major irrigation projects in NIA RO 1 as of December 31, 2021:

  1. Dumuloc Small Reservoir Irrigation Project located in Bugallon, Pangasinan with service area of 1,632 hectares in nine (9) Barangays in Bugallon that can benefit 1,484 farmer beneficiaries.
  2. Bayaoas Small Reservoir Irrigation Project located in Aguilar, Pangasinan with service area of 1,400 hectares covering four (4) barangays in Aguilar and two (2) barangays in Mangatarem that can benefit 978 farmer beneficiaries.
  3. Barbar Small Reservoir Irrigation Project situated in San Juan, Ilocos Sur extends to 845 hectares service area. It covers eight (8) barangays of San Juan and two (2) barangays of Magsingal that can benefit 845 farmer beneficiaries.
  4. Sulvec Small Reservoir Irrigation Project in Sulbec, Pasuquin, Ilocos Norte with a service area of 705 hectares covers ten (10) barangays in Pasuquin that can benefit 669 farmer beneficiaries.
  5. Gaco Small Reservoir Irrigation Project located in Cabuago, Ilocos Sur with a service area of 560 hectares that can benefit 448 farmer beneficiaries.
  6. Lower Agno River Irrigation System Improvement Project with major diversion structures located in Province of Pangasinan with sevice area of 9,305 hectares that can benefit 2,125 farmer beneficiaries in Four (4) municipalities in Pangasinan, two (2) municipalities in Tarlac and one (1) municipality in Nueva Ecija.